Latest News
Hipgnosis Song Management Acquires Kenny Chesney´s Music Catalogue
Thursday 20 January 2022

UK-based Hipgnosis Song Management, which offers investors a pure-play exposure to songs and associated intellectual property rights, has acquired a catalogue from country music artist Kenny Chesney, the company said.

Hipgnosis Song Management has acquired 80% of Chesney's recorded music royalties, covering his discography from his critically acclaimed 1994 debut In My Wildest Dreams through 2017's Live in No Shoes Nation.

His catalogue includes 22 albums, 15 of which are certified Platinum, including five multi-Platinum certifications, and 20 of which are certified Gold. His catalogue includes nine No. 1 all-genre Billboard 200 albums, 17 No. 1 Billboard Country Albums and 18 Top 10 Billboard Country albums.

Chesney has a catalogue of 17 studio albums, two live multi-disc recordings and three greatest hits compilations.

Also included in this acquisition are his future Greatest Hits, Live and/or Acoustic albums as well as Sound Exchange and Neighboring Rights royalties for every album in Kenny's catalogue, including two additional Number 1 albums, 2018's Songs for the Saints and 2020's Here and Now.

Hipgnosis Song Management Ltd, formerly The Family (Music) Ltd is the Investment Advisor for Hipgnosis Songs Fund Ltd and Hipgnosis Songs Capital ICAV.

All were founded by Merck Mercuriadis, former manager of globally successful recording artists, such as Elton John, Guns N' Roses, Morrissey, Iron Maiden and Beyoncé, and hit songwriters such as Diane Warren, Justin Tranter and The-Dream.

The Investment Adviser has assembled an Advisory board of highly successful music industry experts which include award winning members of the artist, songwriter, publishing, legal, financial, recorded music and music management communities, all with in-depth knowledge of music publishing.

Members of Hipgnosis Song Management Ltd advisory board include Nile Rodgers, The-Dream, Giorgio Tuinfort, Starrah, David A. Stewart, Poo Bear, Bill Leibowitz, Ian Montone and Rodney Jerkins.
Date Published: 20/01/2022